If you’re very astute you may have noticed something that’s on the bottom of (nearly) every post I make. It’s sort of my equivalent of a ‘Peace out’. Typically it looks something like this: Long days and pleasant nights from the Tale-Weaver. But sometimes it looks like this: Namarië from the Tale-Weaver. And occasionally it’s a blessing. Being a bookworm, I thought it would be cool to end my posts with a literary farewell. It sounded quite fine on paper, but then it occurred to me that I could only think of two. Some four weeks and a few Google searches later, I can still only think of two (so I sort of cheated with the blessing).

So here’s the deal: If you comment on this post with other suggestions and I like (i.e. use) your suggestions, you get a prize. I’m not sure what the prize will be yet. It may be something yummy to eat, it may be a story written just for you. Or it may be virtual jelly beans. But it will be cool (Just ask abeautifulordinary, who won my National Pi Day contest).

Oh and by the way, in case you were wondering, ‘long days and pleasant nights’ is the standard Mid-World greeting in Stephen King’s dark fantasy epic The Dark Tower, and ‘namarië’ is used in The Lord of the Rings and is Elvish for good-bye.

Long days and pleasant nights from the Tale-Weaver.

5 responses »

  1. Sarah says:

    I always liked the ones that Charles Williams uses in his books: under the Mercy and variations of that which I can’t remember at the moment…

  2. Oh I like that. Didn’t Sheldon Vanauken use it too?

  3. Sarah says:

    Yes, I think that is where he got his book title from….

  4. propjets says:

    I like the one at the end of the Jungle Books,

    On the trail that thou must tread
    To the threshold of our dread,
    Where the flower blossoms red;
    Through the nights when thou shalt lie
    Prisoned from our mother-sky,
    Hearing us, thy loves, go by;
    In the dawns, when thou shalt wake
    To the toil thou canst not break,
    Heartsick for the jungle’s sake;
    Wood and water, wind and tree,
    Jungle-favour go with thee!
    –Rudyard Kipling

    Also, the quote in Vanauken’s A Severe Mercy is good, where C. S. Lewis says that Christians never say goodbye. (Somebody has my copy or I’d use a direct quote.)

    And then there’s Gandalf’s farewell to the dwarves as the enter Mirkwood in The Hobbit:

    “Good-bye! Be good, take care of yourselves-and DON’T LEAVE THE PATH!”

  5. propjets says:

    o.O *as they enter Mirkwood

Leave a Reply

