I just finished typing the last words of a novella I’ve been working on for the past couple months. Now it’s done. It’s quite exciting, really. I do believe it’s the longest entirely completed piece I’ve done. Completed as in it’s gone through multiple drafts and is just about as good as I can make it.

I can now breathe a sigh of relief and exultation.

Then I have to take another breath and move on to the next stage: criticism. Because a story can always be better than I can write on my own. It takes someone’s viewpoint and opinions–or those of several people–to let me see a story from another angle. Then I can take that input and improve the whole.

Writing is a long process.

But it is an excellent thing, a thrilling adventure. It’s like being the architect in Inception, able to mold a world beneath your fingers.

7 responses »

  1. I hope I get to read it. ๐Ÿ™‚ and I’m so glad! That is an awesome feeling of accomplishment. How many words?
    And are you back yet? We should set up a skype call this week. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Nathan Johnson says:

    Congrats! I can’t wait to read it. Love you
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. propjets says:

    You promised to send it to meeeeee…. pretty pleeeeeeeeeeeeassssseeeee?
    And yes. Skype. Soon.

  4. Sarah says:

    I want to see it too!!!!!! please….

  5. Okay, word count is 25,000+. And yes, you can all read it.

  6. propjets says:

    Dude. that was br00tal.

Leave a Reply

