Yesterday, I was chatting with a friend and she asked me if I plan on doing NaNoWriMo this year.

“Whoa,” I thought. “It’s November already?”

Not really, but close enough that Starbucks has started stocking pretty much every drink/pastry you could make out of pumpkin. Which means, yeah, November, month of post-midterm, pre-finals, early Christmas season, writing a novel in thirty days, and astronomic stress levels gorgeous autumn leaves, crisp fall air, and festive family Thanksgivings is nearly upon us.

And yes, I’m planning on embarking on another crazy adventure this November. Thanks to my friend’s prompting, I’ve started thinking about a plot, and getting together a rough outline, because trust me, hammering out 1667 words on Thanksgiving in a turkey-induced stupor while you hide under your bed to escape familial expectations of holiday involvement is difficult enough without having to scramble for plot points.

This is what I look like in November, only darker.

You may think this is too early to start thinking about November ravings of an insane writer literary projects, but I’m the one who started Christmas shopping August 1st. I turn into a gibbering wreck if I don’t plan for things months in advance.

And so I ask the question: Who else is looking forward to spending countless autumn hours hunched over their keyboards, typing away like rabid monkeys while neurotically checking your word count every two words (hint: it’s two more words than it was last time you checked)?

And sometimes I feel like doing this, usually somewhere around 28,000 words.

But really, it’s about 15 tons of fun, and at the end of it, you get to say, “What did I do this year? Oh, I wrote a novel; what did you do?” đŸ˜›

But then on December 1st, I realize why the Mona Lisa has that satisfied little grin: she just finished NaNo with 27 hours and 49 minutes to spare.

4 responses »

  1. I too will be embarking once more on NaNoWriMo’s journey of exploration of writing. NaNo rocks!

    I sucessfully completed NaNo in 2009 and 2010, as well as the 2 Camp NaNos this summer. And each time I do it, I learn new things about writing and about myself as a writer; and take away new skills that i can use in writing in other areas. Indeed, I believe that things I’ve brought away from NaNo are part of what enabled me to publish my first book, and bring my second down the road to publication as well

    I think that NaNoWriMo is something that every writer should try.

    Wishing you well in Nov

    Catherine Kane
    CatherineKaneWrites

  2. Lol. You go for it, girl! =)

  3. propjets says:

    Haha. You’re awesome. And your book will be awesome, and you will be the least stressed person I know, even in the middle of it.
    How do you do that?

Leave a Reply

