Okay, yes that’s the title. No, you didn’t misread it. It really does say ‘Christian’ immediately followed by ‘zombie.’ But please, stay tuned.

Actually, heads up, if zombies totally gross you out, you might want to check out now. ‘Cuz heads roll. Or brains, really. Although I won’t get too graphic.

The book alternates ‘episodes’ that follow the story of a man living in a zombie-infested world with ‘chapters’ that extract lessons about the Christian walk. Yes, they extract these lessons from zombie apocalypses, but they’re still true (except for two quibbles I’ll mention later).

In the episodes, a man named Ben lives in a small town where the ever-spreading threat of zombie attacks makes everyone skittish. You think adjusting to a new job and a new girlfriend is hard? Try doing it while zombies stagger and moan all over town. Rather than zombies being a new outbreak that has everyone scrambling, they’re just business as usual. They’ve been around pretty much forever and people just learn to deal with them. The author gives a lot of back story and weaves zombies into history in way that is absolutely entertaining and often had me giggling (although come to think of it, I’m not sure it was meant to be funny). The writing style is a bit clunky, enough so that it was distracting at times, but it makes sense when we find out who’s narrating the story. The only other problem is the weak plot. Now I get that the story is really just the grab-your-attention for the nonfiction part, but I think the author could have given the plot a little more direction.

Now on to the meat of the book. After every ‘episode’ is a chapter focusing on some aspect of the problem of sin, or to paraphrase Paul, why some nasty zombie part of us wants to run to sin like a dog to its own vomit while the rest of us wants to avoid sin. Okay, I think I just paraphrased both Paul and Solomon there, but you get the point. These chapters are short and snappy, easy to read, but they’ve still got plenty of food for thought. And yes, all the examples and metaphors involve zombies and brains. Which makes them kind of memorable.

So, the two quibbles I mentioned earlier. Both are relatively minor points (but both rank pretty highly on my list of Least Favorite False Assumptions About the Bible). First, the author says that when Cain killed Abel, he effectively killed a quarter of the world’s population, which would mean that Adam and Eve only had the two children at the time of Abel’s death. Okay, technically the Bible doesn’t explicitly say Adam and Eve had other children at this point, but common sense would make the inference. Especially as Cain has a wife two verses later. Second, the author says that Eve ate a fig or an apple. Except that it was the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil, not an apple tree. Or a fig tree. So she ate a knowledgeofgoodandevil fruit.

Except for my two minor quibbles, though, the rest of the author’s points are right on.

So would I recommend The Christian Zombie Killers Handbook? Well. . .

There are a lot of zombies. Aside from being undead, zombies tend to have unique dining habits, which are not usually appropriate for people with weak stomachs or people under the age of twelve.

But that would be my only caveat. So if you like zombies (in the sense that you like seeing zombies being made more dead, not like as in you want to invite them to your birthday party or eat them with a side of fries), I’d recommend you grab a copy. But make sure you bring your rifle with you on your way to the bookstore. Just in case.

In accordance with Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, I am disclosing that I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. My opinions are my own, and I am not required to write a positive review.

12 responses »

  1. Sarah says:

    That just seems like SUCH a weird idea…though creative. And Scripture does talk a lot about being raised from death to life, technically making us surrounded with the living dead.
    Oh and zombies having “unique dining habits”; THAT made me grin.

    • Yes, it’s a unique idea. But especially considering how popular various zombie stories are, it has the potential to reach young people who might not otherwise pick up a ‘spiritual’ or ‘teachy’ book.

  2. wow, uh… hehe. not so sure I’ll ever be picking up this one…. thou art braver than I…. =/

  3. I suppose I can’t stomach the unique dining habits. 😉

  4. you know, this almost reminds me of something we might see next time we judge the story contest…. (let’s see if Sarah agrees)

  5. propjets says:

    This is the sort of book I always hated when I was in my early-mid teens. Starting out sort of interesting and then becoming preachy…I’ma steer clear of this one, methinks.

  6. Sarah says:

    Oh Alicia, do you remember that wonderful story with the “boiling fiery pit of emergent death”??! I read it not long ago, and I laughed again. That was truly the funniest thing I think I have ever read.

  7. A. Setliffe says:

    “knowledgeofgoodandevil fruit!” Say that ten times fast. ^_~ (also, it looked, at first glance to be “knowledge-of-good-an-devil fruit” which bemused me.)

    I doubt I will pick this up from the store, but I saw “zombie” in your word cloud and had to know. I’ve been plagued with dreams about zombies since before I really knew what they were. Not Fun. I am sure there is probably some lesson for me to learn from the dreams, and I am starting to get there, but being chased up an elevator shaft by the zombie of my beloved brother is HIGHLY DISTRACTING.
    Even so, the more I come to understand, within myself, the difference between Life in Christ, and the living-death that is “life” without him. the more the dreams seem to make sense. It sounds like this book echoes that sense. It makes it all the more interesting that the symbol of the zombie is becoming pervasive.

Leave a Reply

