October 28th, 2011.

This marks the last Friday before Halloween, which–for me, at least–is significant only because Halloween is the last day of October. Which leads to All Saints’ Day, a day more commonly known in the world of the Tale-Weaver as the First Day of NaNoWriMo .

Yup, it’s very nearly upon us, the time of year when crazy writers get together and decide to be crazy at the same time. It seems like only yesterday I was psyching up for last NaNo. Oh well. Time flies, you know.

Unfortunately, writing 1,667 words a day kinda cuts into my blogging time. (I know, I know, haven’t been blogging much lately anyway. Bad me.) Sooo, I’ll post when I can, but no promises.

But why don’t you join me? Yeah, it’s a shameless plug for National Novel Writing Month, but still. It’s fun. It’s crazy and frustrating and stressful, but fun.

So what do you think?

8 responses »

  1. Haha, if you were me, I think your blogging time should actually increase as you post to get away from actually having to write those 1667 words…. ;P Maybe that’s why you always win and I don’t, lol.

  2. aarongraham says:

    I”m VERY tempted to joing…if not officially at least in my own small little way. There is a lot I want to get done this month, and I think I will use this as an excuse!

  3. David says:

    Every year I think “Hm, maybe I’ll try NaNoWriMo this year,” usually a month too late. But I can’t escape the fact that I have plenty of unfinished stories that are important to me, and I don’t feel I can justify spending time on such a massive exercise that is unplanned and may lead nowhere—especially considering how little writing I do anyway. Meaning, if I take the trouble to set aside enough writing time for NaNoWriMo, I should probably be finishing those stories that are in progress or that I have promised myself. +) But sometime I’d like to try NaNoWriMo. It sounds fun. Have you done it before? Have you ever finished the novel?

    • The way I figure it, I don’t write nearly enough even when I’m not NaNoing, and since my self-discipline in this area is. . .not so disciplined, I know that I’m not going to write more ‘serious’ stuff just because I’m not NaNoing. Also, it seems that my post-NaNo writing output is much higher than my pre-NaNo output because I’ve gotten into the habit of daily writing, and so I find myself ultimately producing more non-NaNo writing than I would otherwise.

      And yes, I’ve done NaNo twice. I absolutely love it. Both times, I reached my 50,000 words, but no, neither novel has progressed to a completely finished state (although I’m currently working on completely one of the stories).

  4. Sarah says:

    You’re crazy, girl. I don’t know how you manage to hammer out those words every day, but I admire you for doing it. 🙂 What are you writing this time? Do you have something in mind?

Leave a Reply

