So this isn’t my usual genre, I know, but I picked it up because I like Coble’s work.

The book begins when Eve’s long-estranged husband turns up, informing her that he’s tracked down the whereabouts of their daughter, who was kidnapped five years earlier. She’s at a ranch for foster kids, but the catch is that, as neither parent has laid eyes on their child since she was six weeks old, they have no idea which child is theirs. Eve’s husband, Clay, comes up with a scheme that either brilliant or cracked: apply for jobs at the ranch so that they can be close to their daughter as they try to figure out who’s who.

Oh yeah, but that kidnapper? He’s never been found.

And did I mention the drug lords that are mixed up in the whole mess too?

Like you might infer from the synopsis, the book veers from sappy (corny?) romance to (melo?)dramatic action, sometimes within the span of a few pages. Credulity is strained, and sometimes snapped, by the events in the story. And it gets preachy at times.

The characters are not particularly well fleshed-out, especially the little girls, as I tended to forget who is who.

But despite this, the overall reading experience was more positive than negative. Still, I’m not sure I’d recommend it very highly except to someone who’s already a fan of the genre. I would however, recommend Colleen Coble’s Abomination, and the related Rocky Harbor series. These books are also Christian romance and action, but the three elements blend together much more seamlessly.

In accordance with Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255, I am disclosing that I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. My opinions are my own, and I am not required to write a positive review.

9 responses »

  1. Sarah says:

    The first words I saw on the book were “Karen Kingsbury” and I thought “wait, Reyna reads Karen Kingsbury??? I never would have thought it.” And then I saw that the book wasn’t by her. Just to test my hypothesis, have you ever read Karen Kingsbury? (I haven’t).

  2. Nope, I’ve never read Karen Kingsbury. The covers of her books always kinda scared me. They look so, well. . .sweet.

  3. I haven’t either… same feeling, lol. how goes the nano?

  4. The fourth wall? What’s the fourth wall and how did you break it?
    And, lol, I’m convinced NaNo is an exercise in writing humility… at least, it’s always been for me, since I’ve never gotten my word count and I’ve always slowed down because I’m ashamed of how terrible it is and my Inner Editor wants to make it better.
    You know, one year, I should title my NaNo piece, “The Most Horrible Novel Ever” and try to come up with the most horrible prose I can. I get the feeling that would be great fun.
    It would begin…. “It was a dark and stormy night…….” 😉

    • The fourth wall is the invisible wall on a stage that would separate the audience from the actors (you have the back wall and that’s the first wall, and the left and right walls are walls two and three). It’s the basic assumption that, just because there’s nothing physically separate the actors from the audience, there’s a ‘fourth wall’ that keeps them from interacting with each other.

      So breaking the fourth wall is when characters interact with the real world, kind of like in Stranger than Fiction. They might talk to the audience, or carry on a conversation with the author, or even just realize that their fictitious constructs.

      I don’t know if that made any sense.

  5. To rephrase T.S. Eliot:
    “November is the cruelest month, breeding
    Novels out of the dead brain, mixing
    Writing and despair, stirring
    Dull plots with soggy rain…..”
    =)

  6. Sarah says:

    I just noticed this poem Alicia. It made me laugh!

Leave a Reply

