Recently I’ve had all the creative ability of a brain-damaged termite drunk on way too much lager. That’s my excuse for not posting in forever, and I know it’s a lame excuse, but I can’t think of a better one right now, because I have all the creative ability of a brain-damaged termite drunk on way too much lager (I think I just said that).

Anyway.

I happened to look a the list of Academy Award nominees for this year, and thought, Huh? Yup, that was the first thing that came to mind, which just goes to show my current state of mental fugue. Best Picture nominees are full of Moneyball, Midnight in Paris, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (or it might be Extremely Close and Incredibly Loud, or some other equally tongue-twisting title, and please why oh why did someone make–and get funding for–a cutesy movie about 9-11?), and The Artist.

For the first time in I don’t know how many years, I haven’t seen any of the movies in the major categories, nor do I have any great wish to see any of them, with three exceptions (since you ask, they’re Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, The Help, and Hugo). I haven’t even heard of some of them, and since I live in the movie capital of the world, I feel that almost takes some intentional effort of the part of these publicity teams. You have to scroll way down to the Animated Feature Film, Sound Mixing, and Special Effects to find any of the five nominees I’ve seen.

2011 was a bad year for cinema, folks. I’m seriously concerned that this award show might be the most boring in eighty-four years (well, okay, the results, since I don’t actually watch the show).

You may be waiting for a punchline–or something–here, but actually, this is pretty much it. What? I warned it might be pointless.

Sigh.

Okay, okay, let me dredge something up to redeem the pointlessness of this post. Is the 2011 movie year symptomatic of a cultural decline in originality–starkly evidenced by the twenty-seven prequels, sequels, and spin-offs that debuted–heralding the fall of American creativity, or is it simply a low water mark above the tide will rise next year?

There. That was the best I could come up with. Hope you like it.

Long days and pleasant nights from the Tale-Weaver.

6 responses »

  1. Hm, yes, well, never having much faith in Hollywood, I’m not super surprised or disappointed. 😉 I think the only movie I saw in a theater all year was Captain America… which I liked. But yeah, with my cultural illiteracy (some accidental but most planned) I don’t even know what’s showing nowadays, lol.

  2. Jodie H. says:

    Hi!
    I’ve read your blog for about a year, but this is the first time I’ve commented.
    Just had to let you know that War Horse is definitely worth seeing! I saw it last Sunday and think that it is the best movie out this year. Don’t worry, it’s not a sickly sweet story, but it is a tearjerker. And, as an added bonus, it has Benedict Cumberbatch in it (my absolute favorite actor, Swoooon!) Sorry, just had to be girly there!
    Anyway, go see it! You will not be sorry, or I am not the good movie critic that I think I am, as I only try to see the best movies.

    • Hi, Jodie!

      I can’t believe I left out War Horse from my list. It has Benedict Cumberbatch in it, so ‘nough said (see quote under the the Search Box ;)). I definitely want to see it. Thanks for the the review, and thanks for reading my blog!

  3. Jodie H. says:

    Hi again!

    Will you post your thoughts about War Horse after you see it? I so enjoy your writing style and I just wanted to see what your take on the movie would be. Also, just to forewarn you, Benedict (yes, I call all celebrities that I like by their first names) can be hard to spot in this movie. My sister didn’t even know that he was in the movie until I told her. I won’t tell you who he plays, so I won’t spoil it for you.
    Keep up this great blog!
    Jodie

Leave a Reply

