Here’s the continuation of my series I started in the last post, Book Talk (don’t bother scrolling down to find the title on the first post in the series, because I just invented the title about thirteen seconds ago).

Here’s the thing though: The questions I’m asking, I’m really asking you, even though I give you my answers. So it’s sort of a conversation. So feel absolutely free and invited and encouraged to comment and tell me about your own relationship with books.

What are you reading right now?
I just finished reading Jasper Fforde’s devastatingly funny Shades of Grey, and just started Daniel Handler’s The Basic Eight. (And now I can check “use the phrase devastatingly funny in an actual sentence” off my bucket list. There. It’s crossed out. And on a related note, why do people always use that phrase when reviewing plays?)
What books do you have on request at the library?

  1. Bringing up Bebe by Pamela Druckerman
  2. Eat that Frog! By Tracy Brian (I feel the need to offer an explanation; it’s about procrastination, not French cuisine)
  3. The Official Preppy Handbook by Lisa Bimbach (I ordered this so long ago, I don’t even remember what it’s about or why I ordered it)
  4. Ruins by Orson Scott Card (I don’t remember what this one is about either, but it’s Orson Scott Card, so I don’t really care)
  5. Defending Jacob by William Landay
  6. The Wind through the Keyhole by Stephen King
  7. A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers

Bad book habit?
Avoiding American and modern poets like the plague. Bad I know, and I call myself a lit major. Well, ‘like the plague’ is a bit harsh. I read Longfellow, and. . .well, I still can’t think of any modern poets. And by modern poets, I mean all these people who think poetry is the lyrics of rap songs, only without the rhyming, and wouldn’t know what an iambic pentameter was if they found it floating in their soup (I’m not talking about amateurs here, or students, I mean people who actually legitimately consider themselves poets). Having said that, are there any good modern poets I should read?

What do you currently have checked out at the library?

  1. Hitler’s Scientists by John Cornwell
  2. The English is Coming by Leslie Dunton-Downer
  3. Of Other Worlds by C.S. Lewis
  4. The Basic Eight by Daniel Handler
  5. Poems and Songs by J.R.R. Tolkien
  6. Illusion by Frank Peretti (Which I’ve finished, and enjoyed, but it’s not his best work)
  7. Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde (Which was quite funny)
  8. Arithmetic and Algebra by Brita Immergut (The reason for all these math books can be summed up in two words whose close contact should cause nuclear fission: Math Test)
  9. Everyday Math Demystified by Stan Gibilisco (I’m interested in acquiring a copy of the sequel, Everyday Alchemy Demystified: How You Too Can Turn Lead to Gold)
  10. Math the Easy Way by Anthony Prindle (There’s such a thing? Really?)

I’m currently on a low slump, actually. I usually have between fifteen and twenty-five books checked out.

Do you have an e-reader?
No. I honestly don’t know if I would even like one, considering how much I hate reading books on my computer.
Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
Several at once, of course. Except that sometimes when you do that, you forget that you’re reading a book and don’t remember for months, by which point it’s usually a lost cause
Worst book read this year?
This is surprisingly difficult; it’s been a good year for books. I’m going to have to go with The Strain by Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan, mostly because I don’t remember anything about it.
Best book read this year?
Agent Zigzag by Ben McIntyre or Alexandra Fuller’s memoirs.
Do you ever dog-ear books?
No. Full stop.
Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
No. Full stop.
Not even with text books?
Okay, yes, textbooks, but they’re not really books. And even then, it’s usually only when the professor requires it.

So. . .what about you, folks?

Long days and pleasant nights from the Tale-Weaver.

Leave a Reply

