Firstly, I’ve no good excuse for not posting in so long, other than school and more school. So enough about that. Here’s the third and final installment of my Book Talk series. As always, I’d love it if you comment and answer the questions, too.

Favorite language to read in?

I honestly wish I had a choice in the matter. As it is, English is the only language in which I am proficient enough to read anything more complicated than Tin-Tin without getting caught up in a hassle of simply trying to comprehend the words. Having said that, I would love to improve my French well enough to read something more complicated than Tin-Tin (my dad has a copy of Les Mis I’ve been eying for a couple years now), and my Greek well enough to read something more complicated than adaptations Aesop’s Fables (like say, the New Testament).

What makes you love a book?

This is a tough one. I’m not exactly sure, but I’ll have a go at it. Characters and character are both important. By which I mean, the characters have to memorable, interesting, and realistic. At the same time, I want the main character to have character, to be moral and good, otherwise I can’t I root for him. Plot is important too; mostly, it has to make sense. Beyond that, not much is required provided the book has very strong characters. But if the characters are weak, then the plot has to become almost like a character and take on their qualifications. And then, there’s the theme or message. In the end, I want to agree with the author’s conclusions about God, life, and morality, or at the very least about whatever elements the author focuses on in a particular book.

It just occurred to me that I defined ‘book’ as ‘novel’. Which I guess says something.

Favorite genre?
The genre of everything. Really, about the only thing that excludes a book from my radar is blatant, glorified sin. Sooo, anybody have any recommendations in my favorite genre?

Favorite Poet?

Homer, probably, unless I’m forgetting someone.

Do you like to keep your books organized?
Yes. Which is to say, my books aren’t color coded or arranged by subject, but each as their own place on my shelf. I know exactly where that place is, and that particular book goes back there after a reading.

Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?
I like to keep them unless I’m giving them to someone in specific. Speaking of which, nearly all of the ARCs I’ve reviewed on here are available (I think the only ones otherwise claimed are The Christian Zombie Killers Handbook and Nick of Time). So let me know if you’re interested in claiming one that looks interesting.

Leave a Reply

