School is out. Ah, the bliss of those three, simple words. For the first time in what feels like aeons, I have that precious commodity known as time. Aside from watching Doctor Who (an absolutely lovely show, by the way), I’ve been reading a delightfully ponderous biography of J. Robert Oppenheimer, which a classmate unexpectedly and generously gave me the last week of class. I’m utterly enjoying it, and I’ll have to get a review up as soon as I finish it (don’t hold your breath though, because I’m only about 200 pages in, and have 500 left). And I’m also compiling my reading list for the rest of the summer. So far I have:

Schindler’s List by Thomas Keneally
Mortal by Ted Dekker
Ruins by Orson Scott Card
Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy by Eric Metaxas
The Talisman by Sir Walter Scott
Atonement by Ian McEwan

Obviously, there’s no rhyme or reason to my list. And I read pretty nearly everything, both fiction and non. So, seeing as my list is clearly too short for a whole summer, any recommendations? What books are you reading this summer? What are some of your favorites you’ve read recently?

Namarie, from the Tale-Weaver.

2 responses »

  1. Rachael McCartney says:

    Have you considered reading books by Dorothy Sayers?

    • Haha, oh yes. We must think alike, because I absolutely love Dorothy Sayers. But come to think of it, I haven’t read The Mind of the Maker, so I’ll add that one to my list. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

