Happy Fourth of July, people. It’s that time of year again, when patriotic Americans the country over gather around their barbeques to celebrate independence by shooting off fireworks while drinking copious amounts of alcohol.

Hmm, not that that’s at all frightening.

Anyway, that aside, here’s a review of a book I recently finished:

Submerged by Dani Pettrey is a romantic suspense about the secrets uncovered by an investigation into a plane crash in Alaska, which is, I suppose, the reason the series is called Alaskan Courage. I just checked its page on Amazon and found lots of five star reviews. I can’t fathom why. The book was a grueling read. If I hadn’t had to review it, I would never have finished.

The plot felt forced and uneasy, like a truce between a vole and a garter snake. It was set in Alaska, but it didn’t feel much like Alaska (as in, why set your story in Alaska if you’re not going to make use of the isolation and stunning landscape?), and had all sorts of Russian stuff oozing out of the edges. The romantic part of the plot was so predictable I felt like I’d read it fifteen times before, and the suspense part of the plot had exactly one scene that could have plausibly passed for suspense (although it too was predictable).

The actual writing style made me cringe. Every other page, it seemed, the author felt the need to narrate what we had just witnessed. It was shockingly reminiscent of M. Knight Shyamalan’s The Last Airbender (Remember that movie? We would see a scene of Sokka spearing fish in a stream or Aang making tornadoes and Katara’s voiceover would say “And then Sokka had to fish so we could eat” or “That’s how I learned that Aang could make tornadoes.”) The paragraph would go something like this:

“I’m just so afraid Cole will still of me as the bad girl I was in high school,” Bailey said. She feared that, no matter how much she had changed, Cole would always think of her as the irresponsible, immoral girl she had been in high school.

That’s not an actual paragraph from the book since my copy is about fifteen hundred miles away from me at the moment I’m typing this, but it’s pretty close.

The characters were the only saving grace for the book. And when I say ‘characters’ I mean one of them, and she wasn’t even one of the main characters. The rest were flat, dry, and predictable.

In other words, if you’re looking for romantic suspense, I’d recommend Colleen Coble.

In other news though, I have three other (positive!) book reviews coming up shortly, so stay tuned.

2 responses »

  1. nathan johnson says:

    I concur. I just read a chapter and it was just as bad as you said.

  2. Thanks for sharing your views!

Leave a Reply

