Most of my favorite authors are dead. It’s depressing to think that I can’t look forward to new stories from them. No matter how long I wait, there will never be another Peter Wimsey mystery or Lewis novel, and Lay of Leithian will never ever be finished. The nice bit is that when I finished reading Strong Poison, there were ten more mysteries ready for me to immediately devour (and yes, I just split an infinitive). When I finished The Lord of the Rings, every single one of the Histories of Middle-Earth were waiting for me.

Then there are the authors that still on this side of the great divide. At a friend’s recommendation, I picked up The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss and absolutely fell in love with it. And today I finished the second book in the series, and then came to terrible realization that the story isn’t over but there isn’t any more. Not yet, with the third book still being written. And Rothfuss hasn’t even written any other books yet, so I’m stymied. Of course, the good news is that Rothfuss is alive so I can look forward to further works of brilliance. All I have to do is. . .wait. And maybe reread The Hobbit.

Namarie from the Tale-Weaver.

4 responses »

  1. Katie Roberts says:

    I’m also eagerly awaiting the next Rothfuss book! Do you have any “if you loved Name of the Wind, you’d also like…” recommendations for me while I wait? 🙂

    • Thanks for reading my blog! Hmm, excellent question. I felt The Name of the Wind to be evocative of The Lord of the Rings and The Silmarillion. Of course, you’ve probably already read Tolkien, or decided you don’t want to, since the books are so popular. There’s also The Sword of Shannara, which I’m sure would have a lot of crossover appeal for fans of Rothfuss, although I personally didn’t care much for it. I do think you would very much enjoy Stephen Lawhead’s Song of Albion trilogy. Set in a world heavily based in Celtic mythology, it follows the story of a man from our world who gets caught up in the Otherworld just as everything is spiraling out of control. You might also like The Binding of the Blade series by L.B. Graham, who does an excellent job of crafting his world of Kirthanin.

      What about you? What other books/authors do you like that are similar to Rothfuss?

      • Katie Roberts says:

        Thanks, I’ll have to check some of those out! I actually have read very little fantasy (other than Lewis and Tolkien). A friend introduced me to Rothfuss a while back, but I haven’t read much that’s similar… thus the request for recommendations. 🙂

      • Ah, I see that you restrict yourself to only the very best in fantasy. Wise decision ;).

Leave a Reply

