Fire of the Raging Dragon is about a face-off between Chinese and Taiwanese naval forces into which the American navy gets dragged. The climax of the story is–and I feel I shouldn’t be spoiling this in a review, but it’s on the back cover–when the president of the United States has to decide whether to make the military move that is the best for the country, or the one best for the safety of his daughter, who’s on one of the ships in the war zone. Okay, that’s about all the positives I can think of (and I know those weren’t positives so much as they were nonnegatives. Oh well). It was just. . .the plot, characters, and writing all had me cringing more or less continually the entire time I trudged through them. Frankly, I can’t think think of anything else to say, save for going into gory detail about passages like: “Noooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!” Tang screamed as he stood, knocking papers on the floor. “He is my brother!” Tang grabbed the gold lamp off his desk. “Nooooooo!!!!!!!!” And no, I added neither o’s nor exclamation points (at least not consciously; you try squinting a a page and trying to count consecutive exclamation points). So yes, if that excerpt made your day, grab this book. Otherwise, run. Run far. In interests of fair disclosure, please know that I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review, obviously.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

